University of Glasgow Chancellors Award for International Students 2018



The University of Glasgow is awarding scholarships to international students enrolled at the University. The Award is available to students entering any of the University’s Colleges and are awarded as a tuition fee discount. Scholarships are awarded to pursue the postgraduate taught programme in any of the four University Colleges. A total of 20 Chancellors Awards are available.

The University of Glasgow is the fourth oldest university in the English-speaking world and one of Scotland’s four ancient universities. It was founded in 1451. Along with the University of Edinburgh, the University was part of the Scottish Enlightenment during the 18th century. It is currently a member of Universitas 21, the international network of research universities and the Russell Group.


  • An amount of $10000 will be awarded to each of the 20 selected scholars


To be eligible, applicants must

  • Obtain a degree equivalent to a UK 2.1 Hons or better;
  • Hold an offer of a place for a postgraduate taught programme in any of the 4 University Colleges;
  • Be classed as International students for fee purposes;
  • Applicants whose first language is not English are usually required to provide evidence of proficiency in English at the higher level required by the University.

Eligible Countries

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Costa Rica, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea North, Korea South, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgystan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar(Burma), Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe


  • Applicants holding offers will be automatically assessed for a scholarship based on academic merit. There is no separate application form required. Applicants who are being considered will be notified within the timeframes below.

Application Deadline

  • Applicants holding a programme offer by December 1 will receive their scholarship outcome by December 16
  • Applicants holding a programme offer by March 1 will receive their scholarship outcome by March 16
  • Applicants holding a programme offer by June 1 will receive their scholarship outcome by June 16

For more information, visit University of Glasgow Chancellors Award.